Co-designNewsYouth Arts

New Youth Advisers to Influence Scottish Culture and Arts

The members of the new National Youth Arts Advisory Group, who will be helping to shape the future of culture and arts in Scotland, have been announced.

The group of 35 passionate volunteers, aged 14-23, were unveiled during their first meeting with the Cabinet Secretary for Culture, Tourism and External Affairs, Fiona Hyslop at the Fruitmarket Gallery in Edinburgh on Thursday (16th August 2017).

Find out more about the work of the National Youth Arts Advisory Group.

Working with Creative Scotland, and using Young Scot’s co-design process, over the next two years the group will:

  • Engage with young people and stakeholders to influence the next phase of Scotland’s national youth arts strategy, Time to Shine
  • Provide challenge and guidance to Creative Scotland and the Scottish Government on culture strategy and policies
  • Develop rewards, incentives and information to support young people to connect and better understand arts and culture in their local area
  • Develop a celebration for the Year of Young People 2018 to showcase the artistic and creative work of young people
  • Administer the Time to Shine Nurturing Fund for Creative Scotland
  • Participate in national and international project work to showcase Scotland’s youth arts sector.

Selected from a variety of diverse backgrounds across Scotland to join the National Youth Arts Advisory Group, they will play a key role in setting out recommendations for the future of Scotland’s National Youth Arts Strategy. The group met with the Cabinet Secretary to discuss the Scottish Government’s Culture Strategy for Scotland and the role Time to Shine and young people will play in its development.

Cabinet Secretary for Culture Fiona Hyslop said: “I’m a firm believer in the power of arts and creativity to bring people together and to change lives for the better. It has been great to meet members of NYAAG’s latest team and to hear about their plans for nurturing new talent and making youth arts even more accessible to all.

“Our commitment to working with organisations like Young Scot and Creative Scotland means that young people around Scotland can continue to flourish through cultural participation and creativity through the Year of Young People in 2018 and for many years to come.”

Janet Archer, CEO at Creative Scotland said: “It is a key principle of the Scotland’s National Youth Arts Strategy to place young people at the centre of its aims and ambitions and through its delivery Creative Scotland has supported initiatives to develop the breadth; depth and quality of youth engagement. We’re therefore delighted to be supporting the National Youth Arts Advisory Group who will be working to help shape Scotland’s arts and culture offer to the needs and aspirations of its young people.”

Louise Macdonald, Chief Executive of Young Scot, said: “At Young Scot, we know that young people in Scotland are incredibly passionate about the arts and culture. The National Youth Arts Advisory Group is made up of incredible young people with talent, strong opinions and a passion for the arts. This is a brilliant chance to grow their skills and influence Scotland’s national policies around the arts, creativity and culture.”

The talented, young members selected to be a part of the National Youth Advisory Group include:

  • Abby Gray, 15, Dumfries & Galloway
  • Adam Stewart, 19, Dundee
  • Allie Stewart, 18, Dunoon
  • Anna Campbell, 16, Glasgow
  • Betsy King, 15, Inverness
  • Cahal Menzie, 16, West Lothian
  • Christopher Marshall, 18, Bo’ness
  • Daniel McCormick, 23, Clydebank
  • Duncan Colquhoun, 16, Glasgow
  • Ellen Wilson, 17, Arboath
  • Emma Ruse, 18, Edinburgh
  • Eoin McKenzie, 20, Glasgow
  • Eve Ion, 15, Dundee
  • Grace Green, 20, Forres
  • Hanah Poyner, 18, Inverness
  • James McDonald, 19, Greenock
  • Laura Roshni, 15, Dumfries & Galloway
  • Lauren Ross, 20, Edinburgh
  • Lewis McDermott, 18, Stirling
  • Lisa Joan Ireland, 19, Perth
  • Martha Barr, 15, Edinburgh
  • Megan McIntyre, 18, Falkirk
  • Monica Jamieson, 20, Edinburgh
  • Shelby Johnston, 17, Glasgow
  • Arianne Welsh, 23, Glasgow
  • Amy Wojciechowski, 15, Aberdeenshire
  • Holly Wesley, 20, Argyll & Bute
  • Matthew Swan, 21, West Lothian
  • Enkuush Mergen, 19, Edinburgh
  • Wali Hall, 16, Glasgow
  • Giorgio Manzi, 17, Glasgow
  • Laura Goodwin, 21, Stirling/Ayr
  • Ross Cowan, 20, North Lanarkshire
  • Blair Boyle, 19 East, Ayrshire
  • Leon McNair, 15, Dundee